This is a sticky topic.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Boot floor / Sub-frame / Diff mount failure thread

Had a persistent creaking noise coming from the rear of my '99 M Coupe (70k miles) for a long time now and naturally attributed this to plastic interior in the boot area. But yesterday the creaking rapidly got bad enough to worry me and think that something didn't sound right. You could hear the creaking as you were slowly moving off in first and slowly stopping.

Anyway, I remembered the widely discussed topic (roadfly, bimmerforum, bimmerfest, etc.) of sub floor or sub frame failures in a huge number of M Coupes and decided to have a look under the toolkit and the jack.

I found a massive tear and a number of failed spot-welds (apparently this is a cheap and unacceptable way to weld such a component and a MIG or similar weld should be performed. I am not an engineer, but that’s what I’ve read elsewhere).

I've got pictures, but seem to be unable to upload for some reason. If anyone can help with the pics - let me know, there are 3 ~150kb files that clearly demonstrate the failure. SCARY, you have to see this and check your M Coupe.

I will try to take it to my local dealer (Hexagon of Highgate in North London) and insist they write a letter to BMW GB requesting they cover the full cost of fixing the problem of a safety critical element of the vehicle.
    Happiness isn't around the corner, it IS the corner.

Sorry to hear that mate. send me the pics and i'll put them up. imran_arshad2000 at hotmail.com.

Comment

Thanks Maahny,

The pics are in your Inbox.

Comment

That is bad :evil:

Best of luck sorting it out Denis. Keep us all informed of the outcome.

Comment

Please tell me thats not a common faliure......

Comment

Its happened to a couple of cars on this forum. BMW have fixed it at no cost previously. Better stop doing donuts

Comment

Originally posted by maahny